GEORGIA
Criminal Defense Lawyers
 
 J. Michael Mullis
Attorney at Law

Valdosta, Lowndes County Georgia
229-245-0064

 

QUESTIONNAIRE :: HOME :: ABOUT US ::    

 


NO PROOF OF INSURANCE IN GA 


Proof of Insurance is Required in Georgia
You must carry written proof that the vehicle you are driving has the minimum liability insurance required by law. Please note that if you use someone's vehicle that is not covered, both you and the owner can be charged with a violation.

Penalties for No Insurance
Not having insurance is a misdemeanor. The minimum fine is $200.00. For a first offense your driver's license will be suspended for 60 days. For a second offense within a five year period, your driver's license along with your license tag and tag registration will be suspended for 90 days.

There is a way to keep your Georgia driver's license from being suspended on a first offense. Check with your attorney on how to do this.

Penalty for No Proof of Insurance
If you are insured but simply did not have your insurance card with you, all you need to do is present that card to the court. The fine is only $25.00. There is no license suspension.

OCGA 40-6-10

Quick Link to our online questionnaire.

Back    Next     

 

 

 

Georgia Defenders Logo SM 2002-2011, J. Michael Mullis, Attorney at Law
Content 2002-2011, J. Michael Mullis, Attorney at Law