Proof of Insurance is Required in Georgia
You must carry written proof
that the vehicle you are driving has the minimum liability insurance
required by law. Please note that if you use someone's vehicle that
is not covered, both you and the owner can be charged with a
insurance is a
misdemeanor. The minimum fine is $200.00. For a first
offense your driver's license will be suspended for 60 days. For a
second offense within a five year period, your driver's license
along with your license tag and tag registration will be suspended
for 90 days.
is a way to keep your Georgia driver's license from being suspended
on a first offense. Check with your attorney on how to do this.
Penalty for No
Proof of Insurance
If you are insured but
simply did not have your insurance card with you, all you need to do
is present that card to the court. The fine is only $25.00. There is
no license suspension.
OCGA § 40-6-10
to our online questionnaire.